bg-1 bg-2

About CEU

History and Founders

Centro Escolar was established on June 3, 1907 by Doña Librada Avelino and Doña Carmen de Luna for the instruction and training of the youth in all branches of the arts and sciences. With some benches, a single blackboard and a few books, the two educators steadfastly nurtured a dream of establishing a nationalistic center of learning for Filipino women. The first college, that of Pharmacy, opened in 1921. The Colleges of Liberal Arts, Education and Dentistry followed one after the other. Three years later, the College of Optometry was established.

With three campuses and over 50 academic programs, CEU has gone far beyond its founders' vision, building steps towards dreams and goals of the Filipino youth.

University Presidents

Dr. Ma. Cristina D. Padolina

Seventh President 2006 - Present

Dr. Rosita L. Navarro

Sixth President 2002 -2006

Dr. Lourdes T. Echauz

Fifth President 1992 - 2002

Dr. Dionisio C. Tiongco

Fourth President 1972 - 1992

Dr. Pilar H. Lim

Third President 1962 -1972

Doña Carmen de Luna

Co - Founder & Second President 1934 - 1962

Doña Librada Avelino

Founder & First President 1907 - 1934
  • CEU Website Privacy Notice
    "All rights reserved. No part of this website nor any contents thereof may be reproduced in any form without the express permission of Centro Escolar University."
(02) 8735-6861 to 71 or (02) 8735-6860; (02) 8736-7175
(044) 791-6359; 791-9233 or (044) 791-5100; 760-3203
2024 © Centro Escolar University